Looking Ahead to Next Project from Knitted Lingerie

My brother recently sent me Joan McGowan-Michael’s Knitted Lingerie book for my birthday. The book is truly knitting eye candy! 

Joan organized the book around the different items of women’s lingerie. In many cases, her patterns creatively use the lingerie as inspiration for her design. Contrary to what you may think, many of the book’s patterns may be worn in public where the knitter’s work is visible to a wider audience (because what knitter doesn’t want to show off what she/he has made?)

For my next project, I’m using Brooks Farm Harmony yarn in brown/olive/pink from my stash to make the Laced Front Sweater. I purchased the yarn at the 2006 Rhinebeck Sheep and Wool Festival.  What’s great(and unusal for me) is that the Brook Farms Harmony is very close in mix to wool Joan suggests for this pattern which is in the corset section of the book. It consists of 55% kid mohair, 22.5% fine wool and 22.5% silk. I have two hanks or 1,000 yards which is also about what the pattern calls for.

Here’s the wool converted from skien in my stash to two balls waiting to be knit!

Brooks Farm Harmony Yarn

Brooks Farm Harmony on Swift

Brooks Farm Harmony Yarn Wound Up

Leave a Reply

