2008 Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival

Yesterday, I got up at the crack of dawn and I joined a bus load of New York City knitters, crocheters and spinners to head down to the Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival. My friend Kathy got me involved in this woderful journey four years ago. This is an annual pilgrimage for me. This year, I persuaded four of my friends from the Carols Knitting Group to also make the trip.

Despite being in wedding planning frenzy, I was lucky that my fiancée told me not to return home with regrets. Dangerous words for a knitter with yarn purchasing on the brain!

As an experienced Maryland Sheep and Wool Festival attendee, I had my route planned out with stops at Tess Yarns, Brooks Farms and a small Maryland producer named Spinning Flock Farm. Armed with a set of patterns from Knitty and Jean Moss’ Sculptured Knits, I was ready for action and I did damage.

My stash was enhanced with a blue grey Blue Face Leicester from Spinning Flock Farms (which is a dream to knit with!), red solo silk from Brooks Farms, fushia lace silk for a shawl from Tess Yarns and a cone of grey charcoal Euroflax linen which was still priced based on older exchange rates.  In addition, I bought blocking wires for my wedding shawl and a pair of fleece slippers.

Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival 2008 - Main Drag

Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival 2008 - Main Drag

Sheep at Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival

Sheep at Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival

 

Tess Yarns in Blue at Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival

Tess Yarns in Blue at Maryland Sheep & Wool Festival

Leave a Reply

