Honeymoon Knitting Planned

While many of my knitting friends think that I’m off my rocker to think about knitting on my honeymoon, they overlook the fact that our honeymoon to the Cook Islands involves a lot of flying and airport time. Our flight to Rarotonga leaves from Los Angeles where we’re visiting family and friends and we’re coming home by way of Chicago where we’re visiting more family and friends.

I like having a variety of projects in case one of them hits a snag or gets frustrating. Here’s what I’m planning to do:

Honeymoon Vest – It’s a gift for my newly minted husband. This is a basic v-neck man’s vest. I’m not using a pattern. I’m using my gauge and his measurements to ensure that it fits. I’m using Noro Sakura which I bought at The Point on sale. It’s my third garment in this yarn. It has pieces which are wrapped in silk thread where I reverse my stitch (use purl instead of knit) so that it pops. This would not be every man’s dream since it has pink (oh my!) but my soon-to-be husband is color-friendly.

Leaf Lace Kimono – This is a pattern in Summer 2008 Interweave. I must admit that I was influenced by the queue on Ravelry. I am using 6 skiens of Noro Lily in fushia, turquoise and orange which I bought on sale at The Point. (Sorry but $11.50 per skien is a bit pricey for cotton/silk blend, even if it is Noro!)

Apres Surf Hoodie – This is another pattern that I was influenced by Ravelry.  My soon-to-be husband commented recently that I liked hoodies around the time I was fishing for a project. I am using some wonderful merino/acryllic in magenta, olive green and cobalt blue that I bought at the Joan Vass Sample Sale.

Wish me good luck!

Leave a Reply

