NY Sheep & Wool Festival – Rhinebeck Bound

For the New York Sheep & Wool Festival in Rhinebeck, NY, our friends Kathy and Bill invited us to spend the weekend at their cabin in the Catskills. While Kathy introduced me to Sheep & Wool Festivals five years ago, this was our first Rhinebeck adventure in four years.

Cabin in the Catskills

Cabin in the Catskills

Catskills Cabin in the Woods

Catskills Cabin in the Woods

A sheep and wool festival means serious stash enhancement with yarns that are difficult to purchase at retail. Despite my overflowing stash containing over a year’s worth of yarn, I still wanted more. We arrived around mid-afternoon which enabled us to snag a great parking spot near the back of the fair grounds. We also got to see some of the dog trails which I had never seen before (too much yarn and too little time! I have my priorities.)

Back Entrance to NY Sheep & Wool Festival in Rhinebeck

Back Entrance to NY Sheep & Wool Festival in Rhinebeck

Alpacas enjoying the NY Wool Festival

Alpacas enjoying the NY Wool Festival

October Sunlight on Felted Hats at Rhinebeck Sheep & Wool Festival

October Sunlight on Felted Hats at Rhinebeck Sheep & Wool Festival

Horse Drawn Train at Rhinebeck Sheep & Wool Festival

Horse Drawn Train at Rhinebeck Sheep & Wool Festival

Lace knitting has captured my imagination this year. Maybe it’s the mathematical increases and offseting decreases that create amazing patterns. Whatever the reason, I focused my shopping on yarn for future lace projects and I found wonderful yarns to add to my stash. Top on my list was some true Shetland Lace from Jamison and Smith, the purveyors of the true article. I bought two skeins (870 yards) for a bargain $20.00! In addition, I bought a hank of Icelandic lace weight in a natural beige, which the hubster liked. It was a generouse 2,400 yards for $24.00. Lace weights definately help you stay within a budget!

Near the front of one of the barns was low priced wool from a variety of sheep bred in Maine. I bought a cone of sport weight in a wonderful turquoise containing 1,750 yards for $18.00. (While the yarn was a bit course, the finished garments were softer. I thought that it would make a nice jacket sweater.)

Lastly, I indulged in a qivuit blend, the most luxurious of fibers. It comes from the wild musk ox in Alaska and makes cashmere seem reasonably priced! I bought one skein with 436 yards of a plum lace weight. In addition, we purchased some New York state dessert wines and a pair of ear muffs.

It was a great weekend to be in the country where the leaves were colored glorious reds and yellows. The fall sunlight was ever so bright. We went into a nearby town to check out some local galleries and to have brunch.

Halloween Spirit in the Catskills

Halloween Spirit in the Catskills

Leave a Reply

