Dad’s Birthday Present – Classic Ribbed Pullover

For my dad’s birthday on November 18th, I decided to make him a sweater since he’s lost a lot of weight and many of his clothes hang on him including the Noro Vest that I made him last year.  I decided to make him the Classic Ribbed Pullover from Sally Melville’s The Knitting Experience-Book 2: Purl Stitch which is a great book for beginners as well as more experienced knitters.  This is the fourth time that I’m knitting this pattern for an important man in my life.  The others were my youngest nephew, my brother and my husband (for our first Valentine’s Day!)

For my dad, I am making the sweater with the cross over V neck. I am using an Italian wool blend in a brown flecked with light blue. I bought six cones of this wool in two different weights at Silk City Fibers in December 2006.

I am using the thicker yarn for the 1×1 rib for the edging, cuffs and collar. The blue is more blended in the thicker of the two yarns. I am using the thinner yarn doubled for the main body and sleeve areas.

Italian Wool Blend Double Stranded From Silk City Fibers

Italian Wool Blend Double Stranded From Silk City Fibers

Sample of Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover in Italian Wool Blend

Sample of Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover in Italian Wool Blend

 

While I realize that I probably won’t finish this sweater in time for my dad’s birthday, I should be able to get through the back. I plan to pack up whatever’s done to give to him.

Leave a Reply

