Luna Moth Shawl

Bitten by the lace bug, I was pursuing Ravelry in search of a new project and I discovered the Luna Moth Shawl. Despite my library of knitting books including a number of lace favorites, I wanted to see what the knitting community viewed as popular.  This wonderful pattern which creates a deep shawl is available from Elann.

Having been watching the color trends in the stores on Fifth Avenue, I’ve been longing for a scarf in a pumkin orange that has popped up as an accent color earlier this fall. I was planning to purchase some new yarn for the project until I discovered that the angora yarn in my stash marked “rust” was close to the color for which I was looking. Further, I had 17 balls of it, way more than I needed for a shawl or another project!

Despite reading several posts about the shawl on Ravelry, I made the same mistakes! It definately pays to read about the pattern first. The interest of the lace is that the repeats face the center and change direction  half way through the pattern.

I must admit that this angora has been sitting in my stash for over two years hidden away in a plastic bag out of sight waiting for just the right project. I had bought it in January 2006 at a Joan Vass Sample Sale when I was enticed by the color.

Tiber New Angora in Rust for Luna Moth Shawl

Tiber New Angora in Rust for Luna Moth Shawl

Leave a Reply

