Black Lace Shawl for Mom

Did you feel the earth change course recently? It was my mother. After watching me knit several lace shawls and my asking if she wanted me to knit her one, my mother finally asked me for a black scarf! It turns out that she had wanted to spiff up an outfit with a scarf which are all the rage this season. In the process, she discovered that she didn’t have a black one. This is somewhat surprising due to the fact that it’s at the center of every New Yorker’s wardrobe.

 

My mother’s only stipulation was that the shawl be at least six feet long. She wasn’t clear about any of the other aspects such as fiber content or width or style.

 

Knowing that I have an ever growing stash, my mother assumed that I had to have lots of black yarn hidden away that I could transform into a dazzling piece for her. Due to the difficulty of knitting with black yarn, black is a color that is scarce in my stash. Therefore, a yarn shopping adventure was needed.

 

While I had hoped to get something spectacular at Silk City Fibers, I knew that going with a mission to find a wonderful black yarn for a shawl was probably not going to be successful. I didn’t find anything that would fit my mother’s spare requirements.

Therefore, I visited Knitty City to check out their lace yarns. Since I wanted the shawl to be used for casual as well as dress wear, I preferred a fiber mix that included more than just merino. While Knitty City had a nice selection of lace weight fibers, the color black limited my options. I bought two balls Classic Elite’s Silky Alpaca Lace which is 70% alpaca and 30% silk and has 460 yards per ball.  It’s very soft and the silk gives it a great sheen like Jaggerspun’s Zephyr.

 

Silky Alpaca Lace from Knitty City in Black

Silky Alpaca Lace from Knitty City in Black

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

