Triinu Shawl in Pinks Becomes Blocked Beauty

Since my mother wanted a shawl that was at least six feet long, I used eight of the ten balls of Grignasco Top Print for the main portion of the Triinu Shawl which measured about 70 inches before I added the edging lace.  Adding the border was easy since the top portion was a continuation of the main part of the shawl and the bottom border had live stitches from the provisional cast on.

Once it was finished the pink alpaca bundle was sizable and I was left with part of one ball of wool at the end. To soak the shawl, I needed to use the kitchen sink to have enough room to cover the entire piece. I was surprised at how much the shawl expanded after soaking in hair conditioner for a half hour.  Here are some before and after photos.

Triinu Shawl has its lumps before soaking and blocking...

Triinu Shawl has its lumps before soaking and blocking...

Triinu Shawl in Grignasco Top Print Blocked

Triinu Shawl in Grignasco Top Print Blocked

The shawl blocked out to 24″ by 75″. It can be wrapped around me twice which makes it a great addition for these energy saving times! I hope that my mother enjoys it.

Pattern notes: I used 9 1/2 balls of wool (110 yards each) and knitted on size 9 needles. Due to the lace, I could have used one size larger needles.

The Triinu Shawl has inspired me to make myself an Estonian lace rectangular shawl.  A friend is joining me on this adventure. I plan to use the Brooklyn Handspun Yarn that I bought after Thanksgiving at The Point NYC.

Leave a Reply

