Apres Surf Hoodie Progresses

In reviewing my list of 2008 UFOs, I decided to pick up my Apres Surf Hoodie and focus on completing it. Started as part of my honeymoon knitting, this sweater has a special place in my heart. I worked on the early phases of swatching and working out the math on the beach in Rarotonga at the Rarotonga Beach Bungalows.

Note to self, don’t leave abbreviated post-its all over an incomplete pattern for six months. It’s difficult to jog your memory to remember what you were thinking when you scribbled them. That was the state of my Apres Surf Hoodie when I picked it up. Fortunately, I read through the pattern and examine the work in progress. After transfering the hoodie to a pair of number 2 lace addis, I was in gear. What a difference experience with lace patterns has made, I find that the knitting is flying along.

I  added a knitted hem instead of an i-cord edging since I hate doing i-cords and I don’t like the way that stockingknit stitch rolls.

Apres Surf Hoodie Swatch

Apres Surf Hoodie Swatch

I am also considering making a collar instead of the hood because I want the edging to match the rest of the pattern. I’ve spent some time going through my pattern books and old Intetweave Magazines for ideas. IM Winter 2007 has Connie Chang Chinchio’s Henley Perfected, which combines lace and stockingknit stitch with hemmed edging so that it doesn’t roll. Since this is similar to my changes to the Apres Surf Hoodie, I may use its stand up collar.
Leave a Reply

