First FO of 2009-Dreaming in Orange Lace Ribbon Scarf Done!

First FO (aka Finished Object) of 2009 is the Dreaming in Orange Ribbon Lace Scarf for my sister-in-law. This scarf took longer to knit than anticipated and I was lucky that our holiday celebration was postponed due to snow. As a result, I will be able to give my sister-in-law a finished, blocked scarf.

Dreaming in Orange Lace Ribbon Scarf Blocked Out

Dreaming in Orange Lace Ribbon Scarf Blocked Out

Showing off the Dreaming in Orange Lace Ribbon Scarf

Showing off the Dreaming in Orange Lace Ribbon Scarf

Knit in Noro Lily, a combination of 70% cotton and 30% silk, the scarf grew quite a bit in the soaking and blocking process. It’s finished dimensions were 72 inches by 10.5 inches which was significantly more than I had expected when I knit it!

While gazing at the blocked piece, I realized that, despite swatching for the Leaf Lace Kimono to determine my gauge last summer, Noro Lily grows significantly. For a scarf which can be wrapped around your neck in an elegant fashion, this growth can be acceptable. But for a top, this is unacceptable and explains why I haven’t been happy with the Leaf Lace Kimono. (Don’t get me wrong, I don’t plan to knit another one since it’s not a shape that I usually wear.)

One response to “First FO of 2009-Dreaming in Orange Lace Ribbon Scarf Done!

  1. Thanks for visiting my blog. Nice to see you in in the Cyberworld too 🙂 Love the scarf. I’ve been wanting to knit that pattern too. Sorry that the Lily grew. I really hate that about Handknits. I usually end up making things a tad shorter and tighter than I want with the idea that it’ll get bigger with time (and it usually does!). I’m sure we’ll run into each other soon at the Point 🙂

Leave a Reply

