Dad’s Classic Ribbed Pullover Finished!

 

Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover

Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover

Dad’s Classic Ribbed Pullover is officially finished including knitting, sewing together and finishing off loose ends. It’s the first sweater for my National Knit a Sweater a Month Dodecathon on Ravelry. While I would crow about the fact that it’s a week before the end of January, it was one of my 2008 UFOs. Since I had only finished the back of the sweater and my father is tall so that a LOT of knitting was involved, I feel justified in including it toward my goal.

 

My husband has been checking out the fit for me. He’s happy to try on male sweaters to ensure that they fit when finished. He loves the collar on this style which is good for those of you interested in knitting a sweater for the men in your life. He volunteered to take it if my dad doesn’t like the fit. (Please don’t cry for him since he already has three hand knit sweaters, one vest and one pair of socks that I knit him! For those of you who are superstitious, I knit two of the sweaters before we were engaged!)

Dad’s Classic Ribbed Pullover

Pattern source:  Sally Melville’s The Purl Stitch (a great resource for basic patterns and knitting information.)

Wool type: Thick and thin versions of an Italian wool blue-brown (I know that it looks grey)

Wool source: Silk City Fibers

Amount used: Unknown (I estimate that I had about a pound of each thickness. I probably have enough wool left for a man’s vest, at least!)

Modifications: I used the thicker wool for the ribbing on the edging, cuffs and collar. I adjusted the gauge for the wool and my knitting (which tends to be loose). Lastly and probably most important, I made the body more tailored and added set-in sleeves instead of drop sleeves since I wanted a more tailored look. My dad has lost weight and my mom thinks that his clothes  hang on him.

Here are some close ups of the collar and armhole for better viewing.

 

Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover-Collar detail

Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover-Collar detail

 

Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover - Armhole detail

Dad's Classic Ribbed Pullover - Armhole detail

Special thanks to my husband who modeled the sweater. Hopefully, my dad will model it when I give it to him this coming weekend.  My dad gets a kick out of wearing knitted garments that I made him.

What challenges do you have when you knit for the men in your life?

Submitted by Knitted Yarns Editor-in-Chief

4 responses to “Dad’s Classic Ribbed Pullover Finished!

  1. It’s wonderful! What a beautiful, perfect job you did.

  2. The sweater looks great on Larry, but I know your dad will love it too. Now get to work on a pair of socks for your husband 🙂

  3. That’s a great sweater! My biggest challenge is that my dh likes boring sweaters. Dark color, no pattern. His favorite is an acryllic, stockinette, drop shouldered sweater that I knit for him before I discovered just how nice wool is!
    Congrats on the 1st finished sweater of NaKniSweMoDo09.

  4. Danielle,

    I had that challenge knitting for my brother. I suggest that you try a subtle texture pattern or bold cables in a single color are masculine. Alternatively, use a heathered wool which has a masculine feel to it.

    Best,
    Heidi

Leave a Reply

