C is for Color

Color is a critical component of any knitting project. It’s what attracts us as knitters. It’s part of the inspiration and joy. Walk into any yarn store and the first thing that strikes you is the colors of the yarn despite the fact that most stores are organized by fiber type and brand. Tess’ Designs in Portland, ME is one of the few shops that’s organized by color, At Sheep and Wool Festivals, it’s the colors that pull us from one stall to another. 

Color is at the center of the eye candy that draws us to a specific yarn. Here’s a selection of colors from The Point in New York City.

Green, blue and purple hanks

Green, blue and purple hanks

Orange, yellow & red hanks

Orange, yellow & red hanks

 

Multi-colored twisted hanks of yarn

Multi-colored twisted hanks of yarn

Pink, berry & purple yarn

Pink, berry & purple yarn

 

Light green & light blue yarn

Light green & light blue yarn

Valentine's pink & red yarn

Valentine's pink & red yarn

Manos in light blue, purple & mixed colors

Manos in light blue, purple & mixed colors

Manos yarn in oranges and brick red

Manos yarn in oranges and brick red

 

Each knitter has colors that attract her. I tend to be attracted to reds and pinks family . I have to push myself to buy a variety of yarn from other parts of the color spectrum. I find that I can knit with the most wonderful yarn but if the project’s a color that I don’t like, I find it difficult to push myself to finish the item. 

How does color effect your ability to knit?

Submitted by Knitted Yarns Editor-in-Chief


5 responses to “C is for Color

  1. Ooh pretty colors. I likei them all. I’m trying to stay with the colors that look good on me which are sort of Autumn shades, warm colors. But I do fun ones for the baby things. I think babies look good in everything.

  2. What a wonderful, beautiful visual overload!

  3. so much yarn, so little time 🙂

  4. You’re right, I’m first attracted to a yarn’s color. And I found that I was most seduced by worsted weight yarns because their mass is so great. Who wouldn’t want to dive into a big pile of glowing red yarn? But I learned that I prefer to work with lighter weight yarns, DK, fingering and lace, so I’m retraining myself to resist the worsted weights.

  5. Regardless of what attracts you to the yarn, there’s always more yarn to be knit…whether it’s the color or the fiber or just because I need a treat.

Leave a Reply

