New Spring Sweater in the Works!

 

Bouton D'Or New Jeans in Gray, Beige & White

Bouton D'Or New Jeans in Gray, Beige & White

Spring brings with it a sense of renewal. From a knitting perspective, that means time to start a new sweater project. 

While I have been testing some of the new summery yarns that I got at a recent yarn swap to see what the fibers want to be, I am going to make a long sleeve spring sweater instead. I am using the New Jeans from Bouton D’Or in gray, beige and white that I bought at the Joan Vass Sale last summer. It’s made from a combination of fibers including linen and composed of 6 threads combined into a single strand. 

After swatching it several times, I decided to use a purl 3/knit 1 rib or what I call a reverse rib. It shows off the beauty of the yarn and has vertical lines to accent the length. 

I am using the general pattern for a set-in sleeve in  the Interweave Handy Books of Sweater Patterns by Ann Budd. As usual, I am adapting the pattern to meet my measurements.

At first, I didn’t think that I’d have enough yarn to make more than a tank top despite the 120 yards per ball (of which I have 10!). So far, I’m onto my second ball and believe that I will make at least 3/4 length sleeves.

 

Long Sleeve Reverse Rib Sweater

Long Sleeve Reverse Rib Sweater

Leave a Reply

