G is for Good-bye-The Point NYC is Closing

The Point NYC Yarn Store  

The Point NYC Yarn Store

It is with great sadness that I write this post. The Point NYC on Bedford Street in New York City’s West Village is closing. The news was announced by Helene the owner on Sunday evening at their sale. It was followed by an email outlining their “Going Out of Business” sale Sunday evening. Everything in the store is 30% off. 

The Point NYC was a bright spot among the New York City yarn stores. It was a small shop with baskets of yarn hanging off of the walls with a cafe and free wifi. It was a mecca for  knitters as well as locals to stop have a snack in a colorful, creative environment. 

Knitted Yarns Editor at The Poing

Knitted Yarns Editor at The Point

 

Knitted Hats at The Point NYC

Knitted Hats at The Point NYC

From a yarn perspective, The Point NYC tended to have a more upscale selection of brands with a fondness for smaller producers such as Brooklyn Handspun. As a knitter, its strength was its warm, inviting environment. It was filled with tables where groups of knitters could gather on a regular basis or just drop in to look and meet new fellow knitters. This open knitting environment will be missed. 

While I have always had a project with an interesting yarn from The Point NYC on at least one set of needles, looking back, it’s not the knitting that I remember but rather the friends that I spent hours knitting with. Over the years, I’ve met a group of fellow knitters at The Point NYC who I might never have met otherwise. We have become friends and I looked forward to seeing them each week. I am filled with tears as I write this. 

Most special for me was the fact that I announced my engagement at The Point NYC with a bottle of champagne after the store closed in September 2007.

Engagement announcement at The Point NYC

Engagement announcement at The Point NYC

Heidi and the Two Carols at The Point NYC

Heidi and the Two Carols at The Point NYC

The Point Engagement Celebration September 2007

The Point Engagement Celebration September 2007

The Point NYC will always have a place in my heart. It was a very special environment where there was always a smiling face. I will truly miss my regular visits and the welcoming staff. Goodbye!

Leave a Reply

