G is for Green

Naturally Green

Naturally Green

G can stand for a lot of things when it comes to knitting. When I recently took an honest (really!) accounting of the contents of my stash, that G stood for green (and I am not talking about the money invested in my stash either!)

As a Manhattanite, black is my favorite color. Like most New York women, I have at least one black version of every item of clothing. I think that my wedding dress was an exception. 

But when it comes to my stash, there is very little black fiber present. In large part this is due to the fact that it can be challenging knitting with black as I discovered with the Shetland Scarf. When I buy yarn,  I am drawn to the combination of the color and the fiber. Most frequently, I find myself drawn to the wine and purplish reds. 

Therefore I was very surprised to find lots of green in my stash. Maybe it’s the influence of the blue -greens that line the windows of the boutiques on Fifth Avenue but lately, I find myself drawn to the color green. Most of these acquisitions come from yarn swaps.

 

Light green baby yarn with great yardage!

Light green baby yarn with great yardage!

Green cotton with slubs - Destined to become summer top

Green cotton with slubs - Destined to become summer top

Green cotton and wool combination

Green cotton and wool combination

Mint Julep Blend of Wool, Cotton and Silk- Small Producer

Mint Julep Blend of Wool, Cotton and Silk- Small Producer

In addition, I’ve knit 3 green sweaters: a Classic Ribbed Pullover in Forest Green for my nephew, the Origami Cardi in Antique Green and the Lace Top in Olive Green.

Submitted by Knitted Yarns Editor-in-Chief

2 responses to “G is for Green

  1. I think we urbanites crave the green wherever we can get it. In lieu of plants, I also have an awful lot of green yarn in my stash!

  2. Did you say you’re drawn to GREEN? I’m not the only one?

Leave a Reply

