Black Malabrigo Fountain Pen Shawl Begun

Black Malabrigo Sock Yarn from The Point

Black Malabrigo Sock Yarn from The Point

 

Based on  the recommendation of Alyssa, the manager at The Point, I decided to use the two skeins of black Malabrigo merino sock yarn for the Fountain Pen Shawl in the Spring 2009 Interweave Knits magazine. The yarn is scrumptious. It’s a delight to touch and pet!

After the Shetland Scarf that I made for my mother, I promised myself that I wouldn’t make anything out of skinny black yarn. Unfortunately, by the time I purchased this yarn at The Point’s Anniversary Sale, my color choices were either black or white. At this point, my stash is overflowing with various shades of white left from my wedding-related knitting. So black it was!

The Fountain Pen Lace Shawl is a relatively easy pattern to follow. There is one nupp for the 16 row repeat. It is interesting insofar as the left and right sides aren’t knitted in a symmetric manner. 

I have left this project for our Fire Island Vacation in hopes of finishing it in the bright sunlight. Unfortunately, the weather is too windy to deal with the pattern and the thin yard on the beach. The wind fills the plastic pattern sleeve. My husband blew up the pattern charts and I am using highlighter tape to mark my place.

 

Fountain Pen Shawl from Interweave Knits on Fair Harbor Beach

Fountain Pen Shawl from Interweave Knits on Fair Harbor Beach

Black Malabrigo Fountain Pen Lace Detail

Black Malabrigo Fountain Pen Lace Detail

Submitted by Knitted Yarns Editor-in-Chief

Leave a Reply

